What To Know When Doing A Digital Detox

by - Thursday, July 26, 2018

Image via We Heart It

Digital detoxes are just as important as real life closet detoxes, but if you're still unsure of what to do, here are some things you need to know.

People won't care if you unfriend or unfollow them. 
If you're like me, a majority of your "friends" on Facebook or followers on Instagram are people you've most likely never seen in real life. It's okay to unfriend or unfollow them because chances are that those people won't care or notice that you've unfriended or unfollowed them.

Unsub from those annoying emails
You know how some online stores send out emails about every brand spanking new release they ever do or every big sale they ever have? Unsubscribe from them by clicking the "Unsubscribe" button on Gmail, or if you can't be bothered, you can always mark those emails as spam.

Delete your accounts if you must
If a social media platform is really annoying you, or if you feel like it might impact you negatively, you can always delete your account. You will feel sad at first, but it's just a social media platform and it changes all the time.

Clearing your activity log 
This is the most important thing of all social media rules. Clearing out your activity log is important if you posted a ton of embarrassing statuses, comments, and likes. I've started doing this, and it's a long process, but I've been using a Chrome extension called Social Book Post Manager, which helps you get rid of practically everything on your activity log. You can delete those embarrassing emotional statuses about your family to deleting those embarrassing comments. What Social Book Post Manager does is deletes your activity log, and you can click on what you want to delete-for me what I want to delete are comments, likes, and reactions from people and groups I no longer associate with because I don't want something I liked or commented on to come up in a potential disciplinary action when I do get a proper adult job. You can select a certain month and year, or you can just wipe out the entire year although wiping out the entire year will take a very long time.

Lock down your profile 
After having your activity log clearout, I would suggest locking down your profile-make sure nothing can be seen by people outside of your friends list. Recent incidents with James Gunn and Dan Harmon have made me double check to make sure my own personal profile is locked down. If you have any other social media accounts with potentially embarrassing photos, either delete those embarrassing pictures or make your profiles private.

Have you done a digital declutter before?

Winnie x 

You May Also Like

0 comments